Reading is fundamental.
My First Winter in Indianapolis

My first snow in Indianapolis . . .

Although I was born and raised in Florida, I’ve encountered and lived in snow before.  I went to Georgia Tech in Atlanta and it snowed a couple of times while I was there.  While in Arizona, a group of us (80 strong) headed out to Sunrise, Arizona one weekend.  On a separate trip, Hedi, Kim and I flew into Albuquerque, New Mexico and drove to Queen Creek, Colorado to ski at Wolf Creek.  I’ve visited Weisbaden, Germany as well as Prague in the Czech Republic with Rita and Jim.  Then, I lived in Germany for almost 2 years between March 2003 and November 2004 and experienced the winter weather for 2 seasons at the foot of the Zugspitze, the tallest mountain in Germany.  Can we say feet of snow?

However, when I checked the weather this morning, I saw the rain and what looked like snow in the late afternoon on the forecast.  Well, the rain turned into flurries, and the flurries quickly turned into snow early in the afternoon.  I learned a couple of things while experiencing my first snow in Indiana.

  • Leather Clark flats are not appropriate footwear.  As soon as I got off work, I slushed my way over to Costco to buy water proof men’s boots and a few all weather socks.  Beyond the dips in puddles that my feet and the hem of my jeans made, walking in icy cold footsies in said leather Clark flats was not a preferred feeling.  The funniest moment came when I was exiting.   One of the guys that man’s the exit door told me, “You may want to get the larger size for those shoes.  They tend to run small.  So, if he wear’s a 9, you may want to get a 10.”  I quickly interjected, “These are for ME!”  He busted laughing and said, “You may want to try them on to make sure they fit.”  As a moseyed over to the bench, another guy at the membership desk hollered out, “Are those good?”  He was pointing to my Kettle popcorn.  (OKAY!  I’ve got rid of my Kettle chips.  I can’t erase my Kettle popcorn at the same time.  ROTFL!)  I had to let him know, “I wouldn’t buy it if it wasn’t good.”  He also busted out laughing.  BTW, the shoes fit.
  • I have never driven the Silver Bullet a.k.a. my Honda Civic in snow.  Essentially, I’ve probably driven about 4 – 5 times total in the snow.  The Silver Bullet handled very well through the slush, but it’s not the same when compared to the Toyota pick-up I had when I’ve driven in snow in Atlanta before or the SUV that was rented when I drove on the couple of other occasions.  The pick-up was higher off the ground.  As a result, differentiating between roads slightly covered in white snow and the white lane dividers was much easier.  I accommodated to my lack of sight by both staying in the left or the right lane and hugging the side of the road.  My eye sight improved as I was driving, but those first few moments were quite interesting.
  • I no longer have a tendency to fall in fresh snow.  Most people slip and slide on ice.  I don’t.  If it’s fresh powder snow, the likelihood of me biting it increases tremendously.  I don’t know if it’s the fact that my legs and glutes have improved after the physical therapy and gym workouts.  But, my duck walking in the snow was much more effective.  I didn’t even slip once.  YEAH!  Now, hopefully, I have not jinxed myself.  🙂

    Why was my box wet & covered in snow?  UPS!!!!

    Why was my box wet & covered in snow? UPS!!!!

  • If you have deliveries coming during inclement weather, check your front porch.  Okay, I drive past my front porch on my way to the garage in the back.  I don’t open my front door as I do not exit from the front.  Why were my knee high boots from Lane Bryant sitting in a puddle of snow and the box was wet!?!?!?!?  But, here’s the crazier observation.  I had a box from Clinique and Origins as well.  THOSE boxes were in a plastic bag.  I’m still trying to decide if I want to call UPS to complain or have a sign made to put on my front door, “Please place all deliveries in the back by the garage door.  I will see those.”

All in all, it was a good first exposure.  I shall see what the next few days will bring.  😉

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

