Reading is fundamental.
My First Winter in Indianapolis

Gearing up for the cold . . .

Okay, being that I don’t have any true winter gear e.g. clothing, I’ve been staying warm by layering judiciously.  I religiously check the weather every morning and strategically determine what I’m going to wear.  Each layer is planned depending on the amount of time I’m going to be indoors versus the amount of time I’m going to be exposed to cold rain, snow, wind chill, or any other factor.

However, as I do not have a copious amount of sweaters, I typically wear a camisole, short sleeve shirt, sweater and coat for those temperatures below 40 degrees.  For the lower half of the body, there are the long johns, stockings, winter socks and/or Spanks combinations depending on if I’m wearing jeans, a dress or a skirt.

I even have coats that I wear depending on what temperature it will be.  There’s the 40 – 60 degree coat e.g. a brown bomber looking jacket.  The 3/4 length coat with detachable lining is good for 10 – 40 degrees.  I only pull out the Fubu Platinum men’s jacket if it’s 15 degrees or below.  The jacket is sooo heavy that I have yet to zip it up.  Just having it on is enough to protect me against the cold.

But, I really and truly do not have a definite winter wardrobe.  Why you ask?  Well, the clothes that I had in Germany, I donated as I had lost weight.  Now, finding different pieces is difficult due to the fact that I’m allergic to acrylic.  I have start reading labels like it’s out of style due to too many instances of putting on a piece of clothing, having my skin start itching immediately at first contact, and scrambling to get said piece of clothing off me as quickly as possible.

Gloves, hats, scarves, coats, sweaters, pants, skirts, and dresses all have to be checked for that one word . . . “acrylic”.  I know that there are some wool blends that have the minutest amount of acrylic by a lessened itching sensation.

I recognized that I was allergic to acrylic years ago.  It was the 1st and the last time I tried acrylic nails.  I lied to myself and endeavored to soak the acrylic off at home and fell asleep with my fingers in the bowl.  When I woke up over an hour later, every single finger on each hand was a mass of blisters.  I went to see my primary care physician and she thought I had tried to stop a bomb from the state of my hands.  It didn’t help that at the time I was playing coed volleyball.  Did I mention that I was the setter?  Yep, the guys didn’t know what to think when I walked up to court with my blistered and peeling hands.

Thus, at the end of this winter season, I’ll be doing a little shopping for acrylic-less clothing so that I don’t look like the Michelin man when I’m outside here in Indianapolis.  😉

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

