Reading is fundamental.
Almost Vegan

Thursday, June 26, 2014 (Bean mash and curry sauce)

I've learned that it's best to cook dry beans in batches.

I’ve learned that it’s best to cook dry beans in batches.

I usually cook dried beans in mass.  I’ve learned to

  • Soak the beans overnight in the same pot that I’ll be cooking them in.
  •  Also, cook each type of bean separately so that the color won’t bleed on the other beans (Back kidney bean . . . back!)
  • Cook in bulk.
  • Separate the beans according to what you may want to do with them in terms of freezing.  Portion the cooked beans out and label the storage vessel.

Since I had used the last of the bean mash that I had in the refrigerator, it was time to make another bean mash.  But, I decided to cook it differently this time.

Garlic Bean Mash

Ingredients:

    • 1 cup of cooked cranberry beans
    • 1 cup of cooked kidney beans
    • 1 cup of cooked small red beans
    • 5 cloves garlic, minced
    • 2 teaspoons Sriracha

I took some beans that I cook previously out of the freezer.  It was 1 cup of cranberry beans, 1 cup of kidney beans and 1 cup of small red beans.

I made my bean mash a little bit different this time.

I defrosted the beans by cooking them in the microwave for 9 minutes.  Then, I heated the sauté pan on the stove at 6 on the dial.  It er rah, may have been left for too long because I was watching Rafa in Wimbledon.  Rafaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! Thus, I had to wave the pan in the air to take out some of the heat.

The bean mash was cooking on the stove top.

The bean mash was cooking on the stove top.

I put the beans in the pan hot, stirred them around, added 2 teaspoons of Sriracha and let them cook untouched for 3 minutes.  I stirred the beans at 3 minutes and let them cook untouched for another 3 minutes.  I quickly minced 5 small cloves of garlic and added it to the pot once the 6 minutes of “untouched cooking” was done.  I turned the stove down to 5, stirred in the minced garlic and started mashing the mix with a potato masher.  I cooked the garlic bean mash until the liquid evaporated.  I left them in a pot for a smidgen too long and added roughly a 3/4 cup of water to smooth and rehydrate.

Ahhhhh . . . Good eats it twas!

The first cup of curry sauce was mixed with sliced red cabbage, carrots, okra, kale and sushi rice.

The first cup of curry sauce was mixed with sliced red cabbage, carrots, okra, kale and sushi rice.

Easy Coconut Curry

Ingredients:

For the sauce:

    • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
    • 1 red onion, chopped
    • 3 cloves garlic, minced
    • 2.5 tablespoons curry powder
    • 1 (13.5 oz.) can light coconut milk
    • 1 tablespoon tamari
    • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 1 tomato (Uhm, it was ripe.)

I modified the recipe from http://detoxinista.com/2013/07/easy-coconut-curry/ which I’m realizing was a modification of http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/curry-coconut-sauce-10000001113201/index.html   ARGH!  Part of me wishes that I tried the original recipe.  However, kay sera sera, when all was said and done, it was one tasty meal.

After cooking the curry sauce, I left 1 cup in the pan and boxed the rest.  I added sushi rice to the pan.  Don’t judge me!  It added a bite to the final product with the rice vinegar and it was already cooked.  I quickly sliced 1 cup of red cabbage, added it to the pan, and tossed it around.  Then, I sliced 1 cup of baby kale, added it to the pot, turned off the eye and let it sit.  Then, I small diced a half of a mini yellow bell pepper.

It was one tasty lunch for today!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

