Reading is fundamental.
Almost Vegan

July 3, 2014 (Spicy Guacamole & Apricot Mango Preserves)

 

The spicy guacamole got it's kick from the sliced banana peppers and minced red onion.

The spicy guacamole got it’s kick from the sliced banana peppers and minced red onion.

Spicy Guacamole

Ingredients:

    • 2 avocado
    • 3/4 cup small diced red onion (close to minced)
    • 1/4 cup small diced banana pepper
    • 1.5 tablespoons of lime juice (bottled)
    • Freshly ground black pepper to taste

The avocados looked ripe therefore it was a spicy guacamole type of day.  I literally went off the cuff and tossed in some minced red onion that had been cut into slices 2 days ago and small diced 3/4 of a banana pepper that was left out of the pickled banana pepper adventure.  After cutting the avocado in half, I spooned the lime juice over the cut pieces, then medium diced the avocado and cleaned the skin with a spoon to every little tidbit.  After combining all of the ingredient in a glass storage container, I used a fork to mash and mix the ingredients together.  I added enough freshly ground black pepper, mixed, tasted, and then added the all of the lime juice and stirred some more.

The veggie tortillas with a spicy hummus, corn tortilla, spinach, carrots and the bean mash was very, very tasty!!!!

Apricot and Mango Preserves

This was so good I made sure that I scraped every morsel out of the pot!

This was so good I made sure that I scraped every morsel out of the pot!

 

Ingredients:

    • 2 ripe mangos peeled and medium diced
    • 6.5 apricots small diced (Yes, I kept the peel for texture.)
    • 50 ml Smirnoff Melon Triple Distilled Vodka
    • 18 white sugar cubes
    • 1 teaspoon of cream honey
    • 1/4 cup of orange juice
    • 1/4 cup of lime juice (bottled)
    • A pinch of kosher salt

I used the recipe here as a base but added a few twists.

I combined all of the ingredients in a sauce pan and turned the stove on medium heat.  I stirred the ingredients to combine them and cooked the concoction for 5 minutes.  I stirred the ingredients with a flat spatula and cleaned off the sides (scooped the ingredients high up the pot back into the pot). Then, I let the concoction cook for 5 minutes.

After 10 minutes, I turned the heat down and cooked for 5 minutes, stirred, cooked for 5 minutes and stirred.  I turned the heat down one more time, cooked for 5 minutes, stirred and turned the stove off.  I left the pot on the hot eye for 25 minutes and then portioned into mason jars.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Mmmmmm . . . I heart DIY! | Denice's Oil Journey - February 11, 2015

Leave a Reply

