Reading is fundamental.
Almost Vegan

Monday, July 14, 2014 (The kitchen chemist came alive!!!)

 

Me and juicing go way back . . . 2 years and counting!

Me and juicing go way back . . . 2 years and counting!

Green Juice

I felt the need to resume my juicing regiment.  Therefore, it was a juicing type of morning.  I had purchased organic lacinato kale from Earth Fare for $1.50 a bunch.

Ingredients:

    • 1 bunch organic lacinato kale
    • 4 cored medium green apples
    • 8 celery heart stalks cut into 4 inch pieces
    • 1 peeled lemon
    • 4 peeled carrots

Using my juicer (Omega Vert), I juiced all of the ingredients above, whisked the final juice, and portioned the juice into containers.  The end result was 5 cups of green juice.

Healthy Cheese-Like Sauce

Mmmmmm . . . a new dip . . . vegan cheese!

Mmmmmm . . . a new dip . . . vegan cheese!

I followed the recipe with one . . . okay two . . . exceptions.  I  used lime juice in stead of lemon juice.  Also, I added fresh cracked black pepper corn while the cheese was boiling.  In hindsight, in looking at the pictures on the website, I maybe should have cooked the “cheese” longer to increase the overall thickness/viscosity.  However, it was still yummy going in my tummy!!!

This vegan cheese sauce is made without nutritional yeast flakes. If you want the added “cheesiness” that nutritional yeast flakes offers, simply add two tablespoons in step one.

Ingredients:

    • 3 cups water – divided
    • 1/3 cup raw cashews
    • 1/2 cup sliced raw carrots (3/8 cup shredded carrots)
    • 2 1/2 teaspoons onion powder or granulated onion
    • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 2 teaspoons salt
    • 1 tablespoon lime juice
    • 1 tablespoon tahini (You can find Tahini cheaper at an Indian grocery store or an Asian grocery store.)
    • 1/4 cup olive oil or mild (unscented) coconut oil
    • 3 tablespoons tapioca starch (You can find tapioca starch in a health food store or better yet, an Indian or Asian grocery store.)

Instructions

    1. Place 1 cup water and next 7 ingredients (cashews through tahini) in blender and blend until very, very smooth. (I used a Cuisinart blender.)
    2. Add oil and blend well.
    3. Add tapioca starch. Blend until well mixed.
    4. Pour into medium/large sauce pan. Rinse blender with remaining 2 cups water and add to the sauce pan.
    5. Bring to boil over medium/high heat, stirring constantly, until mixture is thick and bubbly.
    6. Remove from heat.
    7. Serve warm or chilled.

 

Read the post for July 15th!

Read the post for July 15th!

Jicama and Watermelon Salad

Okay, I was missed a number of ingredients from the original recipe.   But, being me, I winged it with other ingredients.  🙂

Ingredients:

    • 1/2 cup bottled lime juice
    • 2 tablespoons honey
    • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
    • Kosher salt
    • 1.5 cups grated jicama
    • 4 cups watermelon chunks
    • 1/4 cup roughly torn fresh mint leaves
    • 1 tablespoon cherry wine
    • 1 tablespoon Kirkland margarita mix
    • 1 tablespoon Limoncello

I was supposed to mix all of the liquids with the seasoning and then fold it into the watermelon and jicama.  However, I only realized that after pouring 1/4 cup of lemon juice into the watermelon and jicama.  Thus, I mixed the honey with the salt and 1/4 cup of lime juice, poured it over the watermelon & jicama, and shook the ingredients in the container.  Adding liquor to make this tasted great.  However, since I don’t really drink, it may not have been the best idea that I’ve had.  We shall see.  LOL!  I put the container in the refrigerator and stored it overnight to develop the flavors.

Apricot Almond Cashew Bars

Okay . . . substitution queen strikes again!  LOL!

Okay . . . substitution queen strikes again! LOL!

 

http://lovelylittlekitchen.com/bake-apricot-almond-bars/

This is a relatively quick recipe to make.  Since I didn’t have 2 cups of almonds, I used roughly half almonds, half cashews.

Ingredients:

    • 3/4 cup coconut flakes
    • 1 cups raw almonds
    • 1 cups raw cashews
    • 1 1/2 cups dried apricots
    • 2 tablespoons coconut oil (melted)
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions

    • I will start reading the instructions before starting a recipe.
    • I will start reading the instructions before starting a recipe.
    • I will start reading the instructions before starting a recipe.

If I say it and type it three times, it will come true.  ROTFL!

    1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
    2. Spread your coconut on a baking sheet and bake for 3-5 minutes. Watch closely, when most of the coconut is lightly browned, remove it from the oven and cool. I checked the coconut flakes after 3 minutes and 30 seconds.  Since they were light beige in color, I toasted them for another 45 seconds.
    3. In a high power blender (I used my Blendtec Twister Jar), or food processor, blend or pulse almonds until they are finely chopped.  I used a food processor and it wasn’t an even or consistent result.  In hindsight if I remake the recipe, I’ll put the nuts in a plastic bag and pound them with my meat tenderizer on a cutting board. 
    4. Pour the almonds into a medium bowl.
    5. Next, process or blend your dried apricots with the coconut oil and salt until you have a smooth paste.  Make sure that you melt your coconut oil BEFORE putting it in the food processor.  Since my dried apricots were cold from storing them in the freezer and my coconut oil was not fully melted, I didn’t end up with a paste.  It was more of a smooth ball.
    6. Pour the apricot paste into the bowl with the almonds and add your toasted coconut. Mix together until everything is combined.
    7. Line an 8×8 inch container or baking dish with parchment paper and scoop the apricot almond mixture into the dish. Press it firmly into the dish using another piece of parchment paper.  I missed this memo.  Because I’ve made a number of bars before, I automatically poured the contents onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  It wasn’t until I was typing what I did that I realized . . . DUH!!!!
    8. Cover and freeze the bars for 2-3 hours, then lift the parchment paper out to cut into bars using a sharp knife.  I used a pizza cutter to cut the mixture into almost bars after 35 minutes.  LOL!  The beauty of having an uneven shape on the edges.
    9. Return to the freezer, or keep them cold in the fridge.  I put them in a plastic bag in the freezer separated by the parchments sheets used in the tray.  I just like the consistency and firmness of freezer bars.  When placed in the refrigerator, the bars can dry out if not in a air tight container.

 

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Thursday, July 17, 2014 (Fried Curry Tofu Sticks & Vegan Chili Relleno) | Denice's $0.02 - July 18, 2014

Leave a Reply

