Reading is fundamental.
Almost Vegan

Tuesday, July 15, 2014 (Somethings are not meant to be . . . but Lord thank you for creativity!)

Oh the spicy and sweet goodness!

Oh the spicy and sweet goodness!

BTW, I don’t drink.  I have a liquor cabinet because I used to marinate my meats in alcohol.  Now, I use the alcohol when I’m making jams, preserves or chutneys to impart flavor.  I made the Jicama & Watermelon salad yesterday and pulled it out of the fridge this morning to taste.

The alcohol beat me in the face and back.  But, it tasted soooooo good that I couldn’t scrap it or toss it away.  As a result, I decided to try to make it into a jam.  I included the original recipe below as well as my changes to make good into great.  Enjoy!

Jicama and Watermelon Salad

Okay, I was missed a number of ingredients from the original recipe.   But, being me, I winged it with other ingredients.  🙂

Ingredients:

    • 1/2 cup bottled lime juice
    • 2 tablespoons honey
    • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
    • Kosher salt
    • 1.5 cups grated jicama
    • 4 cups watermelon chunks
    • 1/4 cup roughly torn fresh mint leaves
    • 1 tablespoon cherry wine
    • 1 tablespoon Kirkland margarita mix
    • 1 tablespoon Limoncello

I was supposed to mix all of the liquids with the seasoning and then fold it into the watermelon and jicama.  However, I only realized that after pouring 1/4 cup of lemon juice into the watermelon and jicama.  Thus, I mixed the honey with the salt and 1/4 cup of lime juice, poured it over the watermelon & jicama, and shook the ingredients in the container.

Adding liquor to make this tasted great.  However, since I don’t really drink, it may not have been the best idea that I’ve had.  We shall see.  LOL!

Jicama and Watermelon Chutney (Day 2)

 

Added Ingredients:

 

    • 1 cup sugar cubes

The next day after tasting the concoction, I tossed everything into a sauce pan, added 1 cup of sugar cubes and brought it to a slow boil.  I stirred the ingredients every 4 minutes roughly for about 30 minutes.  When the liquid in the pot appeared to be almost disappearing after 15 minutes, I added a 1/2 a cup of water.  Be sure to watch the pot and add a little water if need be!  

I turned down the heat and let it cook for another 15 minutes give or take.  Afterwards, I turned off the heat and let it sit on the stove for another 20 minutes.

At that time, I put everything in a glass jar and let stirred the ingredients in the jar.  I let the jar rest on the counter for 30 minutes for putting it into the refrigerator.  Ohhhhh my salivating taste buds!!!  If I had some whole grain bread in the house, it would have been on like the break of dawn.

I’m thinking about different combinations now that I can put with it . . .

    • Jicama Watermelon Chutney, whole wheat bread, with homemade nut butter
    • Whole wheat pita stuffed with roasted tofu and spinach/kale smeared with Jicama Watermelon Chutney
    • Pita chips with vegan cream cheese and Jicama Watermelon Chutney

 

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Tuesday, July 15, 2014 (Somethings are not meant to be . . . but Lord thank you for creativity!)

  1. Lol Love the title lmfol and can’t wait to taste these new foods.

    Posted by nadail | July 16, 2014, 11:37 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Thursday, July 17, 2014 (Fried Curry Tofu Sticks & Vegan Chili Relleno) | Denice's $0.02 - July 18, 2014

Leave a Reply

