Reading is fundamental.
and a lot of driving)

Recommendations for Phoenix

After heading back to my stomping grounds in Phoenix, Arizona, I rediscovered some of my favorites that I’ve included below:

Arizona Mills (http://www.simon.com/mall/arizona-mills) Arizona Mills has everything in one spot from food (restaurants and the food court) to money saving opportunities at different stores.  You can consider Arizona Mills as a combination outlet mall and mall.  I’ve discovered some of my best finds and steals at AZ Mills.  It is a Simon’s Mall location.  As a result, be sure to sign up for the Simon Mobile Shopper Club at http://www.simon.com/simon-mobile-shopper-club for coupons, updates and alerts!

Aveda Institute Phoenix (http://aveda.edu/phoenix/) All I will say is $20 Elemental Nature Spa pedicure and $7 express manicure and you get to keep the polish.  Need I say more?  The Aveda Institute Phoenix is a beauty school where you can get discounted services (manicure, pedicure, hair, facial, make-up, body wrap, etc.) using Aveda products.  They also have a store out front and a couple of the items were cheaper than you could find at other Aveda stores and/or online.  Be sure to have your Amazon app up and ready to scan the bar code to check the price or a browser open on your smartphone to Google “price ____ Aveda product”!  A list of the services and their prices can be found on the website http://aveda.edu/phoenix/guest-services/ by downloading the service menu.

IKEA Tempe (http://www.ikea.com/us/en/store/tempe/)  IKEA is a store that was made to tempt you to roll around the aisles screaming “I want it!  I got to have it!”  To maintain control of my spending, I do not pick up a basket nor do I push a cart.  If I can’t carry it in one of my two hands, I’m not getting it.  It is the ONLY way I can control me.  You have to figure out what will work best for you.  Think of a Rooms To Go, Pier 1, Cost Plus World Market, and any other furniture decorating store all rolled up into this giant warehouse will discount prices and high quality product.  Do you see my dilemma?  I would suggest just walking through gazing to the left and the right.  It doesn’t help that they have a restaurant in the store so that you can eat to refresh yourself and hit the aisles again.  I can only say in my Kathy Bates voice from Waterboy, “The debil . . . the debil!”  ROTFL!

Mill Avenue in downtown Tempe (http://www.downtowntempe.com/)  This is one of my favorite places just to walk around and soak in the ambiance.  There’s great food and good entertainment.

I didn’t make it to Scottsdale.  However, I’d highly recommend eating at the restaurant associated with Le Cordon Bleu culinary school (http://www.techniquerestaurant.com/locations/scottsdale.html).    Also, the mojito at Havana Cafe . . . mmmmmmm gooooooood . . . and the food is scrumptious (http://www.havanacafe-az.com/).

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Recommendations for Phoenix

  1. Hey there – always looking out! Scottsdale has really grown over the years. Most hotels have a shuttle service to make stops within a few miles. Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall has more than a few choices between Forever 21 and Barney’s. I little further north on Scottsdale Rd. for good eats, Blanco Taco – love that place! A little further south, LoLo’s chicken and waffles. For a great mani/pedi, 20lounge, Seville Plaza 7001 N Scottsdale Road Suite #166 Scottsdale. Dolce Salon and Spa is right across the street – next to Blanco Taco :). Desert Ridge Mall is in north Scottsdale. The nearby hangout is called City North – shops/restaurants. Share my number with her and I can talk to her about central Phoenix, too!

    Posted by Yvette | December 10, 2014, 7:13 am
  2. I went to Blanco Taco and it was really good! The food and the ambiance was nice. Next, trying Lo lo’s and the nail salon.

    Posted by racquel | December 12, 2014, 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

