Reading is fundamental.
Interesting Tidbit

The saga that is Brighthouse (Friday, December 5, 2014)

  • I requested that the Brighthouse technician call before arriving at my domicile.
  • My appointment was between 4 and 6 p.m.
  • I called at 5:30 p.m. for an ETA and was told that the technician canceled the call because no one was home.

My phone never rang.

I was told that a request was being put for a “go back”. However, that could not be guaranteed that it would happen tonight, but oh by the way, I have an appointment for tomorrow in between Noon and 2 p.m. NOTE: I have already stated that I have online office hours between Noon and 1 p.m. tomorrow on multiple occasions today.  I need a consistent and working internet connection before then.

Ask me why I have . . . .

  1. Read my residential contract because oh by the way I should “look into getting a business service because they get priority over residential.” Yes, when the agent said that to me I simply requested to speak to her manager. Oh look . . . in said residential agreement, it says that I should expect reasonable service. (http://brighthouse.com/policies/policies/residential-agreement.html)
  2. I looked into filing an FCC complaint. However, the FCC does not handle internet services. That would be the Federal Trade Commission (FTC, http://www.ftc.gov/).
  3. BTW, I can also file a consumer complaint with the Indiana state attorney general (http://www.in.gov/attorneygeneral/2434.htm#)
  4. Also, there is a.l.w.a.y.s. filing a complaint at the local Better Business Bureau.

Yes, I have names, times that I talked to an individual, who I was transferred to, and will be pulling my cell phone records with regards to how many times I have called.

As Ron White would say, “I’m tater done.”  I have not had consistent internet service for the past 48 hours.  I have failed a test.  I cannot connect with my online students.  I have spent over 3 hours on the phone in the last 2 days.  As a full-time graduate student, part-time teacher, on the side tutor, and budding thespian, my seconds, minutes, hours, and days are extremely valuable.  Time is one of those things that I cannot get back.  However, I am willing to spend whatever necessary time to ensure that this does not happen to me again or to any other consumer.

Enough is simple enough . . . .

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

