Reading is fundamental.
Interesting Tidbit

Lessons Learned: Thursday, February 13, 2015

The tidbits from yesterday are below . . .

  1. I can sometimes pack way too much in a single day.  Procrastination, I really need for you to step away from me.  We can no longer be friends.  We cannot hang out.  There will be no more “quality time”!  Therefore, I have to let go of certain things that will not allow me to be productive, schedule breaks throughout the day and plan on completing items at least 1 – 2 days in advance of the deadline.
  2. My math class is . . . they are . . . well . . . uhm, er rah . . . I can say that they are honest to a fault.  ROTFLMBO!  After one student broke out in tears after the timed quiz, I took that as a “teachable moment” and asked the class, “What do you do to relieve stress?”  One student said that they would go out dancing and even would go to strip clubs.  Mic dropped . . . laughter started . . . it took me a moment to compose myself and resume the class.  Okay, let’s talk about reducing an equation to the quadratic form.
  3. I cannot eat all carbs before teaching my afternoon class.  My body/mind doesn’t process the sugar before I need to think.  I feel like I’m in a slight sugar coma.  Therefore, I end up making silly mistakes at the board.  As a result, I’ll need to change my eating patterns on Tuesday and Thursday as well as make sure that an hour before class that I have time to meditate/pray to prepare myself for whatever I may hear in class.  Ow!  I hurt my side laughing hysterically.
  4. An intervention is needed for several of my students.  I had a hand full of students stay after class.  Why do I have several students who truly believe that they can take back to back classes on Tuesdays and Thursday and be mentally fresh and ready for my math class?!?!?!?!?  I need you to go and talk with your math advisor and change your schedule.  When I asked “How much sleep did you get last night?”, the response was I really don’t get that much sleep.  When I asked “What did you eat today?”, the response was “I’m not going to lie to you Ms. Lewis.  I ate crap.  Crap is what I ate.  Chick Fil A . . . chips . . . soda . . .  ”  Picture me with my head dropped saying “If you are not going to get sufficient sleep, I need for you to treat your body right and eat healthy food that would nourish and strengthen you.”  Call me math doctor.  I diagnose why students are not doing well in my class.

2 Timothy 2:15 (KJV)  Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman who needth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

